Game #224: Hanna, Ship’s Navigator (1)

Game #224: Hanna, Ship’s Navigator (1)
Date: 2017-03-14
Location: Red Castle Games, Portland OR
Vs. Lyzolda; Karador; Mizzix
Result:   Fun Loss

Hanna, Ship's Navigator, Magic, Judge PromosvsKarador, Ghost Chieftain, Magic, CommanderMizzix of the Izmagnus, Magic, Commander 2015

The main reason why my posts have been so sporadic has been the birth of my daughter. In her honor I was going to build her a deck with her semi-namesake as the commander. I wound up with three. This game was quite a long one, but very fun.

I started out with a traveler’s amulet and an expedition map (two of the only artifacts in this deck), and an early Thassa and Serra’s Sanctum. Mizzix (who was cast 4 times in this game) started with a Goblin Matron and an Electromancer, Lyzolda had an early Ob Nixilis of the Black Oath, and Karador had both Kokusho and Solemn Simulacrum early as well.  Karador wrathed on turn 6.

I cast Hanna on turn 7, and followed it with Skybind and fetched a Dictate of Heliod and Sigarda’s Aid via Plea for Guidance.   Somewhere in here the board got wiped again, and Hana came out again.  I played a Heliod, and did some blinking tricks with Skybind and the Serra’s Sanctum. I had up to 11 clerics when Blasphemous Act happened, and then Lyzolda Chaos Warped Heliod.  I played a Sphere of Safety, which got Pridemaged away. Mizziz did a Cyclonic Rift.  I played a Blessed Spirits that got decently large, and carried a Thassa’s Emissary.  Lyzolda killed Mizzix.     My notes don’t say exactly how it ended, other than that I came very very close to actually winning.

About the Deck ( http://tappedout.net/mtg-decks/hanna-enchants/)

This one is the (almost) all Enchantment deck, representing creativity.  It is also nearly entirely permanents (with the exception of Plea for Guidance and the Cleansing Meditation that needs to be put in the deck!).  It plays quite a few Bestow creatures, and could go Hanna “Voltron” if needed. Additionally, both of Hanna’s parents are in the deck.  I think I use the Foil promo Terese Nielsen version.

Leave a Reply

