Game #225: Hanna, Ship’s Navigator (2)

Game #225: Hanna, Ship’s Navigator (2)
Date: 2017-03-21
Location: Red Castle Games, Portland OR
Vs. Silas/Thrasios; Thassa
Result:   Mostly Fun Loss

vs(/)

Another Daughter Deck.

I started the game with a Hope of Ghirapur and some Inventor’s Goggles.  Thassa had an early Cosi’s Trickster, and Silas/Thrasios came out of the gate with a Burgeoning into an Awakening Zone into a Sword of War and Peace (and then quickly a Scavenging Ooze and a Copy of Thassa).   I played Hanna on turn 4, but didn’t have much to do until a Favorable Winds and a Consulate Dreadnought on turn 7 and 8 (sadly I could never find gas for the boat, though there was plenty of room to sail thanks to Thassa’s Quicksilver fountain and Thada-Adel).  I used a Confiscation Coup to steal Thassa’s Surge Spanner (and I stuck a Freed from the Real on it for fun), but did little else (Cast a Thassa of my own, and a Narwhal).  There was a mass bounce around turn 13, and after that Thassa dropped a bunch of merfolk and fish-buffs, and then I died.   It wasn’t an un-fun game, I just couldn’t get stuff into play.  I did generate 9 energy, and used 4 of it…

About the Deck ( http://tappedout.net/mtg-decks/hannas-energetic-exploration-with-flying-whales/ )

This deck is about Energy, Vehicles (especially boats, and extraespecially flying boats), and Whales (especially flying ones), and it is sort of themed towards “inqisitively and exuberantly exploring the world,” which are all qualities I hope my daughter will have.

Extra fun stuff includes getting to play Narwhal, Cunning, and Traveler’s Cloak. Mom is in the deck, but Dad stayed home to build more artifacts. It is more artifact heavy than enchantment laden.  I like the flying Whales a lot.

Leave a Reply

