Game #247 : Shabraz, The Skyshark / Brallin, Skyshark Rider

Game #247 : Shabraz, The Skyshark / Brallin, Skyshark Rider
Date: 2020-12-23
Location: My House, Portland, OR
vs: Kangee, Sky Warden; Hamza, Guardian of Arashin
Result: Fun Loss

A brunch game with my family. My wife played my very first deck (Kangee) but with the newer version of Kangee (I’m not switching the deck for myself) because it was more effective. My BIL played a new deck he had built after taking apart Karametra (not knowing I had bought him a Foil Etched Karametra as a Christmas Present).

I started with an Ash  Barrens and a Sol Ring .. no colored mana… but I kept it and lucked into Burnished Hart on turn two.  I played a Fevered Vision, and did lots of tricks to get Shabraz as large as 17/17.  Hamza’s board got big and threatening and he tapped out to try to kill me, but I was able to hang on at 8 life, and then attacked with a Lifelinked Shabrazz who got big again to take him out of the game.  However Kangee, who had an extremely slow start, suddenly had a really strong board of flyers including Keeper of the 9 Gales and a Soulcatcher’s Aerie.  She was in full control when our son woke up, and my BIL finished the game off for her. (Lest you think I’m a bad dad/partner, this morning game session was my play-date for the weekend, and I had the kids for the afternoon).   Also, the Humble Defector I played lived the whole game, but only changed hands twice…?

About the Deck (TappedOut — Someday):  These two were my favorites from the Ikoria Commander set.  The deck is a bit all over the place. I had thought about focusing on being a Cycling deck, but ended up going with a broader “stuff I like to play that draws and or discards or likes lifegain”.  Shabraz is meant to be the Lead commander, though Brallin does work.  I bought another Alhammaret’s Archive for the deck.

Leave a comment