Game #245 : Omnath, Locus of the Roil

Game #245 : Omnath, Locus of the Roil
Date: 2020-11-7
Location: Brother-in-Law’s House, Portland, OR
vs: Karametra, God of the Harvest
Result: Mostly Fun Win

So… it had been over a year since I finished and played a new deck. Thanks to the Pandemic and the birth of my second child (who also shares a name with two of my commanders) I just didn’t have a lot of time to build or access to play. However, my brother-in-law and pandemic bubble-mate took up the hobby, and has been the source of my reinvigoration with this blog.

He was playing his very first self-built deck (we’d mostly played pre-cons until this point). We were both playing lands-matter/landfal type decks, though mine skewed towards elementals also. I kept a two land hand.  He had a Refuge that was making tokens and one gaining life. I popped out a lot of elementals and clones. He played some Admonition Angel, which I was able to remove.  I played a Treacherous Terrain that hit him for 15 and then re-cast an Omnath that did the final 3 damage.

About the Deck (TappedOut — Someday): I really like all of the Omnaths, but this one is probably my favorite, both for the colors, and for the encouragement to play elementals. I have some standard “lots of landfall” cards, but I also make use of blink and flicker effects on Omnath as well.  I will probably be building Omnath IV this year as well.

Leave a comment