Game #252: Siona, Captain of the Pyleas

Game #252: Siona, Captain of the Pyleas
Date: 2021-2-6
Location: Spelltable (OR, TX, NJ)
vs: Radha; Yorvo Lord of Garenbrig; Zacama, Primal Calamity
Result: Fun Win

This was my first, and only, Spelltable playing experience. It was fun. I played with my friend from Baltimore and his friends/family.  It took a bit of rigging to get my camera set right, but worked fine in the end.

I started with 4 lands, but little in the way of offense (of course, Siona is the only creature, so it’s hard to mount an early offense), though I had Spear of Heliod on turn 3.  Radha had a Magus of the Moon, and Yorvo got pretty crazy fast. Zacama had early beefy dinosaurs, but had to drop out due to lack of battery.  I played Siona on turn 4 and on turn 5 I played Shielded by Faith and made a Myriad  (10,000 being my arbitrarily large number of choice for this deck), but with no haste, Yorvo found an answer with Oblivion Stone, and my army perished.  However, by turn 9 I managed (and sadly it was not recorded exactly how) to beef up Siona to 1-shot Commander Damage size and win the game.

About the Deck (TappedOut — Someday):  Siona has cool art and I had planned to build her as a “creatureless” deck, though not an all Auras/Enchantments deck like Alela is.  It took me a bit of time to remember what Aura there was that could auto attach to a creature, but I managed to ‘figure it out’ on my own without turning to the internet to tell me how to break Siona.

Leave a comment